# **COUNTY OF KANE**

John A. Cunningham

KANE COUNTY CLERK 719 S. Batavia Ave. Geneva, Illinois 60134



Tax Extension Department Phone: (630) 232-5964 www.kanecountyclerk.org

**TO:** Kane County Tax Buyers

FROM: John A. Cunningham, Kane County Clerk

**SUBJECT:** Tax Buyers Guide

The following are guidelines for the Tax Buyers after the Sale

### **Take Notices**

- A Take Notice fee of \$19.64 (subject to change) will be added to the sale. The Tax Buyer is required to pay this cost at the time the Take Notices are filed with, and mailed by, the Kane County Clerk's Tax Redemption Department. This cost is subject to change if postage increases. Please provide a blank check for the fees. A receipt with the check # will be mailed with the Take Notices for parcels that are unredeemed at that point.
- The Tax Buyer will receive an additional \$4.00 when redemption has been made. This is an additional fee collected for the Tax Buyer's preparation of the Take Notice. This additional amount must be added to the total redemption amount on each Take Notice. Therefore, this year's total take notice fee to be added to the total redemption amount due is \$23.64. There will also be a \$68.40 Clerk fee (which also must be added to the total redemption amount on each Take Notice.) Please remember this when you, are processing the Take Notices.
- 3 Illinois Revised State Statutes chapter 35 paragraph 200/225 indicates the state mandated requirements for the Take Notices, and Kane requires the following:
  - A. Take Notices must be **completely filled out**,
  - B. The mailing address has to be 2 <sup>3</sup>/<sub>4</sub>" from the top of the Take Notice, single-spaced and flush with the left 1" margin.

- 4. Take Notices that are being mailed to a trust account must include the entire trust number to enable the financial institution to identify the account.
- 5. Prior to bringing the completed Take Notices to the Kane County Clerk's Tax Redemption Department for mailing, all Take Notices on **redeemed** parcels should be <u>removed</u>.
- 6. When calculating the penalty, the computer sets the decimal position at 4 places and rounds up by adding .0099. Buyers are made aware of this to prevent any discrepancies between the amount on their Take Notice and the amount generated by our computer.
- 7. We set the redemption date for one or two and one-half years, the tax buyer must extend the redemption period according to state statutes. **OR** Notify the County Clerk of the parcel numbers of residential properties so that we can extend.
- 8. The expiration periods are as follows:
  - A. Residential units with 1 to 6 units are entitled to  $2\frac{1}{2}$  years (use codes 011, 040, 8011, 8040) with the exception of those parcels with six- month certificates.
  - B. All other property, including farm land, has a redemption period of 1 year (all other use codes) with the exception of those parcels with six- month certificates.
  - C. Extensions are not to exceed three years.
- 9. When extending the expiration date of certificates, the Tax Buyer should submit a list to the Clerk's office at least thirty days prior to the expiration date. The list must include the certificate number, the parcel number and the date to which it is extended.

# Redemptions

- 1. The Kane County Clerk's Tax Redemption Department will begin accepting redemptions approximately two weeks after the sale. However, buyer payouts will not begin for approximately three weeks.
- 2. Tax Sale Certificates will be available for distribution within two weeks of the Tax Sale.
- 3. It is the responsibility of the Tax Buyer to provide an e-mail address to the County Clerk's office, so that we can e-mail redemption reports.

4. Tax Buyers must return their Tax Sale Certificates on all redeemed parcels to the Kane County Clerk's Tax Redemption Department no later than 9:00 a.m. on Thursdays. Adjustments should be made for holidays falling on Thursday or Friday.

## **1099 Forms**

- 1. All Tax Buyers must have a completed W-9 Tax Identification form on file with the Kane County Clerk's Tax Redemption Department before the first pay-outs can be issued. For your convenience, one is attached. Changes in address, phone and email addresses should be reported also and require a new W-9 form with the new information.
- 2. Interest Earnings Report forms (1099's) will be issued to each Tax Buyer by January 31 each year.

# **Assignment of Certificates**

- 1. The procedure for assigning Tax Sale Certificates is a formal letter to the County Clerk at the time of the assignment. This should include the certificate number, the parcel number, your company name and the name of the company or person to whom the certificate has been assigned. There is a \$12.00 fee for each certificate assigned. The original certificate is to be turned in with the re-assignment.
- 2. The new tax buyer must file a W-9 form with the county clerk along with a phone number and email address for our files.

## **Paying Subsequent Taxes**

- 1. Tax buyers must make an appointment with the Treasurer's office in order to post any Subsequent Sales. Prior to paying subsequent taxes, you should check the redemption files at the Clerk's office to be sure that none of the parcels to be paid have been redeemed.
- 2. After paying Sub Taxes at the Treasurer's office, you must bring the paid bills to the Clerk's office. Please note on the tax bill the sale year and certificate number the subtaxes are to be added to.
- 3. You must leave the paid bills with the Tax Redemption Department. Copies will be date stamped and added to the redemption file. A photocopy of the paid bills will be mailed to you the following day if you choose to leave them.

## **Tax Deeds**

- 1. When a court order to issue a Tax Deed has been granted, it is the responsibility of the Tax Buyer to prepare a Tax Deed. Any receipts for costs incurred in the deed process must have the parcel number on them for each cost to be added.
- 2. Tax Buyers must bring the Tax Deed, along with a certified copy of the Order, to the Tax Redemption Department for the County Clerk's signature. The Tax Redemption clerk will verify the legal description and check for any outstanding taxes prior to signing the Tax Deed.
- 3. If there are other delinquent taxes due, the Tax Buyer must pay them prior to the issuance of the Tax Deed.
- 4. The charge for the issuance of a Tax Deed is \$5.00 and should be made payable to the Kane County Clerk.
- 5. Tax Buyers have a year from the date of the court order to record the Tax Deed.

### **A Lost Certificate**

If you misplace, lose or destroy a Tax Certificate, an Affidavit of Lost or Destroyed Certificate of Tax Purchase must be filed with the Clerk's office. The Clerk's office will charge a \$5.00 fee for all replacement certificates. A sample of an Affidavit of Lost or Destroyed Certificate of Tax Purchase is attached.

#### A Canceled Certificate

The Clerk's office will charge a \$4.00 fee for all canceled certificates. The tax buyer is also responsible for the \$68.40 Clerk Fee.

If you have any questions regarding this memo or any procedures regarding the Tax Sale, please contact the Kane County Clerk's Tax Redemption Department at 630/232-5964.

This office cannot offer legal advice or instruction. However, we will make every effort to assist you in the redemption process.